Thank you to Lorna Smithers for today’s beautiful Winter Wonder.  Submissions will end this Friday, 31st of January, as I get ready to go away for Imbolc. If you would like to submit a piece of writing, poetry, prose or even a picture that encapsulates your thoughts on winter, please click here. My favourite will win a signed copy of my book, A Modern Celt.

Winter Kingdom

As I make my circuit stars hold vigil in an icy breath.
Roses of Annwn bring beauty from death.
Wintering starlings spotted with snow
sleep in a tree that nobody knows.
There is a courtship of stability in this kingdom of cold
where we re-knit the bonds as dream unfolds
in shadows of farmhouses down the witch’s path
through old stony gates in footsteps of the past
to the healing well where a serpent’s eye
sees through the layers of time’s disguise.
A procession sways down the old corpse road
where the lych gate swings open and closes alone.
From the empty church bells resound.
Reasserting its place on the abandoned mound
a castle extends to the brink of the sky.
Within its dark memory a fire comes to life.
As warriors gather to warm their cold hands
I know I am a stranger in a strange land.

(c) Lorna Smithers 2014

winter_rose_

Picture credit in image.

